Office Staff

Andrew Donnery CEO

Andrew has had extensive soccer experience, as a player and directing coaching activities both in England and the United States. Mr. Donnery has worked with several U.S. organizations including: the Cape Fear Soccer Association; the Wilmington Hammerheads Professional Team; and Coastal Carolina Soccer Camps.

He has also acted as a Coach Educator and Instructor for the United States Soccer Federation and worked with the North Carolina Youth Soccer Association as a member of their Olympic Development Staff. He has served as a committee member with the NCYSA Academy Committee and the NCYSA Coach Educators Committee. Andrew obtained a bachelor’s degree in applied psychology from Liverpool John Moores University and has just completed a Master in Business Administration from the University of Liverpool.

He holds the following coaching qualifications UEFA “A” License, UEFA International Coaching License, UEFA 12-16 Youth License, UEFA 17-21 Youth License, the USSF National Youth License, NSCAA Premier License, NSCAA Master Coach Diploma, NSCAA Director of Coaching Diploma and the English FA Academy Manager’s License. He also authored a book called “Let the Kids Play”. The book was designed to put the fun back in the game with a collection of enjoyable, stimulating and developmentally appropriate exercises for young players.

Over the years Andrew has placed players into Division 1 College Programs, State ODP, Region ODP and the U.S National Team. Andrew served has the state ODP Director for Cal North as well as designing the 3rd largest league in the country. He currently directs the NSCAA Director of Coaching Diploma and co-authored the NSCAA Advanced DOC Course. In 2014 he was appointed as a Technical Advisor to Bermuda FA Academy and coached the U17 Bermuda FA team.

Ben Ormsby - Girls Director U13-U19

Benjamin Ormsby has been coaching in Elk Grove since 2007, and has coached both boys and girls of all ages. Benjamin has taken USSF coaching education courses every year for the last 5 years and received his USSF Senior A in 2018. He also holds an NSCAA Director of Coaching Diploma and a Diploma from the Frans Hoek Tactical Analysis course.

He’s been a part of the Olympic Development Program (ODP) as both a head coach and as a staff coach for the regional team. In 2016 and 2017 he was an assistant coach for the Cosumnes River Men’s Soccer Team. He attended California State University Sacramento, where he earned a bachelor’s degree in Communications.

Greg Rubendall - Boys Director U13 – U23

Greg also comes to Elk Grove with an excellent soccer background. He comes to Elk Grove Soccer from serving as the boys Director of Coaching at Ballistic, one of the top boys clubs in Northern California. He has produced many national team players. Greg has a USSF “A” license, a NSCAA Premier Diploma, the NSCAA Director of Coaching Diploma and has a M.A. in Kinesiology (Biomechanics).

He is also a NSCA Certified Strength & Conditioning Specialist. Greg will be the Director of Coaching for the Boys U12 – U18. Greg is also a member of Regional & State Player Development Program (PDP) Staff and is on the NorCal Premier Coaches Education Staff.

Dan James - U4 – U12 Director

Daniel was born and raised in England before moving to the USA when. Dan now resides in Elk Grove and holds a USSF C License, NSCAA Premier Diploma, an NSCAA Director of Coaching Diploma and F.A Coaching Licenses. Daniel is also an instructor for the United Soccer Coaches courses and attended the University of Chester in England where he studied Fitness and Health. Daniel oversees the U4-U12 program at the club and also oversees the clubs camps and clinics.
Patsy Cosenza - Treasurer/Secretary
Jen Mattos - Administrator

Age Group Coordinators

Age Group Coordinators please:

Age Group Name Email
2000/2001/2002/2003/2004 U16- U19) Jennifer Green jgreen@elkgrovesoccer.com
2005/2006 (U14) & 2007 (U12) Dave Groves dgroves@elkgrovesoccer.com
2008 (U11) William Newsom wnewsom@elkgrovesoccer.com
2009 (U10) Keith Stephen kstephen@elkgrovesoccer.com
2010 (U9) Jason Greer jgreer@elkgrovesoccer.com
2011 (U8) Harvie Millier hmillier@elkgrovesoccer.com
2012 (U7) Carlo and Margaret cverdugo@elkgrovesoccer.com
2013 (U6) Randy Cassens rcassens@elkgrovesoccer.com
Rancho Murieta All Age Groups Doug Mattos dmattos@elkgrovesoccer.com
128